In 2005 the Educational Paperback Association, now the Educational Book and Media Association, established the Marilyn Abel Award in honor of her long-term efforts and support in furthering the goals and growth of the organization.
Marilyn Abel served as Executive Secretary for 35 years and had been involved with the organization since its inception in 1975 until her passing in spring of 2013. Her experience at NAL and other publishing houses proved invaluable in her work at the EPA. EBMA has made an annual contribution in her name to the National Coalition Against Censorship since her retirement, which will continue in her memory.

To views memories of Marilyn about how she personally impacted our members and association, please click here.

The National Coalition Against Censorship sent a kind letter of condolence to EBMA in honor of Marilyn, click here to read the letter.

Past recipients of the Marilyn Abel Award include:

Educational Book & Media Association is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

P.O. Box 3363, Warrenton, VA 20188
Ph. 540-318-7770

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software