

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE **Contact: Brian Gorg** info@edupaperback.org

## EBMA NAMES KATE DICAMILLO WINNER OF THE 39<sup>TH</sup> ANNUAL JEREMIAH LUDINGTON MEMORIAL AWARD

October 26, 2017 – The Educational Book and Media Association (EBMA) today announced that Kate DiCamillo is the recipient of the 2017 Jeremiah Ludington Award. The award, named after EBMA's founder, is presented annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the educational book business. Past winners include Ashley Bryan, David Wiesner, Brian Selznick, Russell Friedman, Jon Scieszka, Kevin Henkes, Sharon Draper, and Pam Muñoz Ryan.

Kate DiCamillo is a highly decorated author who is beloved by both educators and young readers. She is one of only two authors to receive two Newbery Medals recognizing her work, The Tale of Despereaux (2004) and Flora and Ulysses (2013). She has also received the Newbery Honor for her novel Because of Winn-Dixie (2001), the Boston Globe Horn Book Award for The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane (2006), and the Theodor Geisel Medal and honor for Bink and Gollie, co-author Alison McGhee (2011) and Mercy Watson Goes for a Ride (2007). In 2014 and 2015 she was the National Ambassador for Young People's Literature Emerita, appointed by the Library of Congress.

"The EBMA board and membership are proud to present this year's Ludington Award to Kate DiCamillo," said Jill Faherty, EBMA President. "Ms. DiCamillo engages audiences of all ages in the art and craft of story. She a true gem among the many talented voices of children's literature and continues to produce revered works ranging from picture books, early readers and finely crafted novels."

Ms. DiCamillo will accept the Ludington Award at EBMA's annual conference in Palm Springs, CA in January, 2018. As part of the award, EBMA will present a \$2,500 check to the charity of Ms. DiCamillo's choice.

EBMA is an association of over 30 wholesalers and 90 publishers who are reputable and authoritative suppliers of educational paperbacks, pre-bound books, and other educational content to the school and library market. For more information about EBMA and the Ludington Award, visit www.edupaperback.org.

###

PRESIDENT

**JILL FAHERTY** Baker & Tavlor 1120 US HWY 22 East Bridgewater, NJ 08807 908.541.7405 jill.faherty@baker-taylor.com

**VICE PRESIDENT JOYCE SKOKUT** Ingram Content Group One Ingram Blvd. La Vergne, TN 37086 615-213-5914 joyce.skokut@ingramcontent.com nstetzinger@follett.com

TREASURER **NANCY STETZINGER** Follett School Solutions 1340 Ridgeview Drive McHenry, IL 60050 708.884.7344

**EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR BRIAN GORG** EBMA PO Box 3363 Warrenton, VA 20188 540.318.7770 info@edupaperback.org