

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE **Contact: Brian Gorg** info@edupaperback.org

EBMA NAMES ASHLEY BRYAN WINNER OF THE 38TH ANNUAL JEREMIAH LUDINGTON MEMORIAL AWARD

October 10, 2016 – The Educational Book and Media Association (EBMA) today announced that Ashley Bryan is the recipient of the 2016 Jeremiah Ludington Award. The award, named after EBMA's founder, is presented annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the educational book business. Past winners include David Wiesner, Brian Selznick, Russell Friedman, Jon Scieszka, Kevin Henkes, Sharon Draper, and Pam Muñoz Ryan.

A beloved author and illustrator, Ashley Bryan has written and/or illustrated over fifty works for children, including Beautiful Blackbird, Let It Shine, and Freedom Over Me. He has received the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, the Lee Bennet Hopkins Award for Poetry, and the Coretta Scott King Award. He has been a May Hill Arbuthnot lecturer, a nominee for the Hans Christian Andersen Award, and the recipient of both the Coretta Scott King—Virginia Hamilton Lifetime Achievement Award and the Dartmouth College Social Justice Award for Lifetime Achievement.

"The EBMA board and membership are proud to present this year's Ludington Award to Ashley Bryan," said Jill Faherty, EBMA President. "Ashley is a master storyteller whose unique and inspired poetry and prose, painting and collage skillfully share important stories with young readers."

Mr. Bryan will accept the Ludington Award at EBMA's annual conference in St. Petersburg, FL in February, 2017. As part of the award, EBMA will present a \$2,500 check to the charity of Mr. Bryan's choice.

EBMA is an association of over 30 wholesalers and 80 publishers who are reputable and authoritative suppliers of educational paperbacks, pre-bound books, and other materials to the school and library market. For more information about EBMA and the Ludington Award, visit www.edupaperback.org.

###

PRESIDENT

JILL FAHERTY

Baker & Taylor 1120 US HWY 22 East Bridgewater, NJ 08807 908.541.7405 jill.faherty@baker-taylor.com VICE PRESIDENT

JOYCE SKOKUT

Ingram Content Group One Ingram Blvd. La Vergne, TN 37086 615-213-5914

TREASURER

NANCY STETZINGER Follett School Solutions 1340 Ridgeview Drive McHenry, IL 60050 708.884.7344 joyce.skokut@ingramcontent.com nstetzinger@follett.com **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR**

BRIAN GORG

EBMA PO Box 3363 Warrenton, VA 20188 540.318.7770 info@edupaperback.org