

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Brian Gorg info@edupaperback.org

## EBMA NAMES PAM MUÑOZ RYAN WINNER OF THE 37<sup>TH</sup> ANNUAL JEREMIAH LUDINGTON MEMORIAL AWARD

**October 15, 2015** – The Educational Book and Media Association (EBMA) today announced that Pam Muñoz Ryan is the recipient of the 2015 Jeremiah Ludington Award. The award, named after EBMA's founder, is presented annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the educational book business. Recent past winners include David Wiesner, Brian Selznick, Russell Friedman, Jon Scieszka, Kevin Henkes, Sharon Draper, and Mary Pope Osborne.

Ms. Ryan is an award winning author whose most notable novels include *Esperanza Rising, Becoming Naomi Leon, Riding Freedom, Paint the Wind, The Dreamer, and Echo.* Notable picture books include *When Marion Sang, Amelia and Eleanor Go for a Ride, Nacho and Lolita, and Tony Baloney,* as well as a *Tony Baloney* Beginning Reader series. She is the author recipient of the National Education Association's Civil and Human Rights Award, the Virginia Hamilton Literary Award for Multicultural Literature, and is twice the recipient of the Pura Belpré Medal and the Willa Cather Award. She will accept the Ludington Award at EBMA's annual conference in Tucson, AZ in February, 2016.

"The EBMA board and membership are proud to present this year's Ludington Award to Pam Muñoz Ryan," said Jennifer Allen, EBMA President. "Her contributions to children's literature are immeasurable. Her style is lyrical, absorbing, inspirational, and endearing." As part of the award, EBMA will present a \$2,500 check to the charity of Ms. Ryan's choice.

Born and raised in Bakersfield, California, Ms. Ryan has received many additional awards, such as the PEN USA Award, the Américas Award, the Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor, and the Orbis Pictus Award. When asked, "What is your motivation to write?" She replied, "The answer is simple. I want the reader to turn the page." Ms. Ryan is published by Scholastic, Inc.

EBMA is an association of over 30 wholesalers and 70 publishers who are reputable and authoritative suppliers of educational paperbacks, pre-bound books, and other materials to the school and library market. For more information about EBMA and the Ludington Award, visit <u>www.edupaperback.org</u>.

###

PRESIDENT

GENE BAHLMAN Follett Library Resources 1340 Ridgeview Drive McHenry, IL 60050 815.759.1700 x3397 gbahlman@flr.follett.com

## VICE PRESIDENT

JENNIFER ALLEN The Booksource, Inc 1230 Macklind St. Louis, MO 63110 314.647.0600 jallen@booksource.com

## TREASURER

JOYCE SKOKUT Ingram Content Group One Ingram Blvd. La Vergne, TN 37086 615-213-5914 joyce.skokut@ingramcontent.com

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR BRIAN GORG EBMA PO Box 3363 Warrenton, VA 20188 540.318.7770 info@edupaperback.org

Visit our website at www.edupaperback.org