

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Maureen Gelwicks info@edupaperback.org

EBMA NAMES NIKKI GRIMES WINNER OF THE 41st ANNUAL JEREMIAH LUDINGTON MEMORIAL AWARD

October 8, 2019 – The Educational Book and Media Association (EBMA) is pleased to announce that Nikki Grimes is the recipient of the 2019 Jeremiah Ludington Award. The award, named after EBMA's founder, is presented annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the educational book business. Past winners include Kate DiCamillo, David Wiesner, Brian Selznick, Ashley Bryan, Jon Scieszka, Kevin Henkes, Sharon Draper, and Pam Muñoz Ryan.

Nikki Grimes is a *New York Times* bestselling author, poet, and journalist who has written for readers of all ages. Her distinguished body of work includes *Garvey's Choice, What is Goodbye?*, *Bronx Masquerade*, *Ordinary Hazards: A Memoir* and *Barack Obama: Son of Promise, Child of Hope*. Her work has won the Coretta Scott King Award and the Horace Mann Upstanders Award, been acclaimed with the Coretta Scott King Author Honor, and recognized as ALA Notable Children's Books. She herself is the recipient of the Children's Literature Legacy Award, the Virginia Hamilton Literary Award, and the NCTE Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children.

"The EBMA community is honored to present this year's Ludington Award to Nikki Grimes," said Joyce Skokut, EBMA President. "Nikki's prose and poetry are moving and influential, and her vast body of work continues to impact, inspire, and entertain readers, students, and library patrons."

Ms. Grimes will accept the Ludington Award at EBMA's annual conference in Puerto Rico in January 2020. As part of the award, EBMA will present a \$2,500 check to the book related charity of Ms. Grimes's choice.

EBMA is an association of more than 30 wholesalers and 100 publishers who are reputable and authoritative suppliers of educational paperbacks, pre-bound books, e-books, and other materials to the school and library market. For more information about EBMA and the Ludington Award, visit www.edupaperback.org.

PRESIDENT

JOYCE SKOKUT

Ingram Content Group 14 Ingram Blvd – MS 635 La Vergne, TN 37086 615.213.5914 joyce.skokut@ingramcontent.com

VICE PRESIDENT

NANCY STETZINGER

Follett School Solutions 1340 Ridgeview Drive McHenry, IL 60050 708-884-7344 nstetzinger@follett.com

TREASURER

BRYAN THOMPSON Steps to Literacy, LLC PO Box 6737 Bridgewater, NJ 08807 732.560.8368

bthompson@stepstoliteracy.com

EXECUTIVE **D**IRECTOR

BRIAN GORG

EBMA PO Box 3363 Warrenton, VA 20188 540.318.7770 info@edupaperback.org